Hellenistic Astrology

The Power of Essential Dignities: A Quick Example

In this essay I want to demonstrate how the traditional system of essential dignities can be used to add quite a bit of detail and nuance to the interpretation of a chart. Traditional astrology uses five different essential dignities. There are the major dignities, rulership and exaltation, and their corresponding debilities, detriment and fall. Modern astrology still has these dignities, although they are often not widely recognized or used.

Read More »

Ancient psyche-therapies for modern minds

If you believe psychology is a merely a modern invention of a narcissistic age, you haven’t been paying attention. While the “scientific” study of psychology in a laboratory may be a relatively modern notion, (re)invented by researchers in the 19th and early 20th centuries, the study of the mind has ancient roots in all human cultures. 

Read More »